top of page
Triple crown logo

Triple Crown of Hiking Award

What is the
Triple Crown of Hiking Award?

ALDHA-West recognizes those individuals who have hiked, in their entirety, the complete lengths of the Appalachian Trail (AT), The Continental Divide Trail (CDT), and the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT).  For hikers who have completed all three trails, ALDHA-West presents the official “Triple Crown of Hiking” (TC).  The award is acknowledged here and given as a plaque if the individual would like one made.

2023 Triple Crown Winners

The TC is based on the Honor System (you tell us if you honestly completed each trail). ALDHA-West is not the judge or jury of the award and we believe that long-distance hikers are an honest group of people.  The award only symbolizes the great achievement that each hiker has accomplished.

ALDHA-West does not recognize any other qualifiers such as; age, race, nationality, thru-hike, section hike, fastest hike, slowest hike or any other “qualifier” to the award people might want to add to it. The official stance is that each person hikes the Triple Crown for their own personal reasons and the achievement of such is honor enough. ALDHA-West recognizes that not everyone who qualifies for a TC award will apply for an award, so any qualifiers we would add on to an award would be invalid as there are no official records to back a claim or dispute one way or the other.

As of the 2023 awards ceremony, ALDHA-West has recognized a total 693 Triple Crown of Hiking Awards.

bottom of page